Services for Lingfield
General Information for Lingfield
Lingfield is a large village, slightly isolated, in the south-east of Surrey. The Church of St. Peter and St. Paul is the only large one of the Perpendicular style in Surrey. It was rebuilt in 1431, although the original 14th century tower remains, and contains the finest collection of brasses in Surrey.
The area around the church has been designated a conservation area and includes many buildings, beautifully preserved, from the 16th to 18th centuries.
In the main street, there is a cross and village cage. The cage, last used in 1882 to hold a poacher, was built in 1773.
The library is housed in the Old Guest House of the College for Secular Chaplains built in 1431. This hall-house is all that remains of the original College but an 18th century farmhouse, called the College, marks the site of the original establishment.
Lingfield is famous for its racecourse with race days every month, including Turf, National Hunt, all-weather racing and harness racing.
On the Haxted Road towards Edenbridge, is Haxsted Mill. The double-fronted mill was built in two halves, the first around 1580 and the other in 1794. It has been fully restored and is a unique combination of a working watermill and a museum of mill machinery used for water-power. There is also a picture gallery and bistro and pleasant walks along the River Eden.
On the A22 near Lingfield is the London Temple of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints known as the Mormon Church. The temple, only open to followers of that sect, has a visitors' centre where the beliefs of the Mormons are explained and visitors can also stroll in the grounds.